Your story. our voice.

DUI

Olathe DUI Lawyer

What Is a DUI?

DUI is an acronym for "driving under the influence." DWI stands for "driving while intoxicated," or in some cases, "driving while impaired."

You May Be Charged with a DUI If Your:

  • Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) limit is set at 0.08% as measured within three hours of the time of operating or attempting to operate a vehicle for drivers over 21 years of age.
  • Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) limit is set at 0.02% for those under 21.
  • Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) limit is set at 0.04% for commercial drivers.

The Law of Implied Consent

The "Law of Implied Consent” means if you are stopped by a law enforcement officer on the suspicion of drunk driving with a Kansas driver’s license he may test you with a breathalyzer or by a blood test to check Blood Alcohol Content (BAC). Refusing to take the chemical test will result in your license being revoked for a year.

What Happens When You Get a Dui in Kansas

The punishment will depend on the severity of the offense and how many times you have received a DUI conviction. If you have been pulled over by a police officer and either been charged or refused to take the test, call Vincent Rivera immediately for a consultation. Having the legal guidance and support that you need during this time is critical for protecting you and your future.

Our team of DUI lawyers has helped countless individuals facing a similar struggle to you. Take a look at our client testimonials and see why we are the most trusted team of DUI attorneys in all of Olathe, KS, and beyond. Let us help you and protect your rights.


Speak with one of our DUI defense lawyers by calling (913) 359-8996 today.


What Is the Sentence for Dui in Kansas?

In Kansas, it is against the law to drive or attempt to operate a motor vehicle while having a blood or breath alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or above. 

First DUI Offense

A First DUI Offense Is a Class B Non-person Misdemeanor. If You Are Found Guilty of a Dui for the First Time, You May Face: 

  • 48 hours of mandatory imprisonment or 100 hours of community service.
  • Complete a court-ordered alcohol and drug safety action education program and/or treatment program (at your expense).
  • Additional fine of$500 to $1,000 plus court costs, probation, and evaluation fees.
  • Driving privileges will be suspended for 30 days, then restricted for an additional 330 days.
  • Your vehicle can be impounded for up to one year.

Second DUI Offense

A Second DUI Offense Is a Class a Non-person Misdemeanor. If You Are Found Guilty of a Dui for the Second Time, You May Face: 

  • 90 days to one-year imprisonment.
  • Fines $1,000 to $1,500 plus court costs, probation and evaluation fees.
  • The complete court-ordered treatment program for alcohol and drug abuse (at your expense).
  • Driving privileges will be suspended for one year.
  • Your vehicle can be impounded for up to one year.

Third DUI Offense

A Third DUI Offense Is a Non-person Felony. If You Are Found Guilty of a Third Dui Offense, You May Face: 

  • Charged with a felony offense.
  • 90 days to one year imprisonment.
  • Fines $1,500 to $2,500 plus court costs, probation and evaluation fees.
  • Complete the court ordered treatment program for alcohol and drug abuse (at your expense).
  • Driving privileges will be suspended for one year.
  • Vehicle can be impounded for up to one year.

Fourth DUI Offense

A Fourth DUI Is a Felony. If You Are Found Guilty of a Fourth Dui or More, You May Face: 

  • 90 days to one year imprisonment.
  • Fined $2,500 plus court costs, probation and evaluation fees.
  • You must complete the court ordered treatment program for alcohol and drug abuse (at your expense).
  • Your driving privileges will be suspended for one year.
  • For BAC of 0.15 or over, driving privileges will be suspended for ten years.
  • Any court may revoke a person’s license plate or temporary registration for a period of one year.
  • Your vehicle can be impounded for up to one year.
  • Your driving privileges can be permanently revoked.

At the end of the incarceration/work release program, you will be placed in the custody of the Secretary of the Kansas Department of Corrections for a one-year period of post release supervision which shall be required to include completion of a drug/alcohol treatment program (at your expense).

How Long Do I Have to Have an Interlock Device in Kansas?

After a one-year suspension of driving privileges is completed, you are restricted to driving only a motor vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device for one year. (Proof of such device’s installation and use shall be provided to the Division of Motor Vehicles before driving privileges are fully reinstated.)

INVOLUNTARY MANSLAUGHTER & DUI

If you are convicted of involuntary manslaughter while driving under the influence it is very possible to be imprisoned anywhere from 38 to 172 months. Keep in mind that if you have a DUI / DWI in another state this will also be considered prior criminal history DUI / DWI in the State of Kansas. 

If you or a loved one have been charged with Involuntary Manslaughter in Olathe call Vincent Rivera immediately.

DUI WITH CHILD UNDER 14

If you are convicted of a DUI with a passenger under the age of 14 years old receive one-month imprisonment added to their punishment. This month of imprisonment will occur consecutively with the other punishment.

How Can An Olathe DUI ATTORNEY Help You

Having an experienced Olathe DUI attorney by your side is essential for ensuring that you are provided with the legal support and guidance that you need during this challenging time.

A DUI Attorney Can Help You By:

  • Providing you with legal guidance: One of the most important reasons to hire an attorney is so you can have access to objective legal information that is important for you to know. Your Olathe DUI attorney will be able to answer all of your questions and help ensure that you have what you need for success.
  • Offering emotional support: No matter what legal charge you are faced with, dealing with the legal system can be especially stressful and challenging. Having an attorney by your side who you can trust is important for providing you with the emotional reassurance that you need. Knowing that your attorney will handle things such as paperwork and that you have solid representation when you need it can tremendously help to alleviate stress levels.
  • Taking care of the paperwork: There is a good amount of paperwork involved with any type of legal matter. Your DUI lawyer in Olathe will be able to handle all of the paperwork involved with your case, and ensure that everything gets to where it's supposed to, at the right time.
  • Saving you time and money: One slight mistake on the paperwork involved with your DUI case can cause disruptions in the process that could potentially cost you both time and money.
  • Gathering evidence: Solid evidence is important for any legal matter. Your lawyer will have years of experience in helping other clients facing a similar struggle to you, and will know exactly what is needed to effectively support and defend your case. Your lawyer will be able to obtain the evidence necessary quickly and effectively.
  • Ensure the best possible outcome: A reputable lawyer knows and ins and outs of the legal system, and will fight for you to ensure the best possible outcome for your DUI charge case.

Don't go through a DUI charge on your own. Let our DUI defense lawyers in Olathe help protect you and your future. Contact us today for a free consultation.


For information regarding your personal situation, contact our Olathe DUI attorneys by filling out our online form or calling (913) 359-8996 today. 


  • Expertise Best Criminal Defense Lawyers 2022
  • Super Lawyers Rising Stars
  • USCCA CRT Attorney Referral Network
  • AVVO 10
  • KACDL
    • Over 55 Years of Combined Legal Experience
    • Each Client Receives Personalized Strategy
    • Our Firm is Top-Rated & Award-Winning

    Why choose us?